User Roles

ReturnGO provides different user roles to manage your returns efficiently. Each role has specific permissions and access levels within the application. 


Understanding these roles will help you effectively manage your returns and ensure that users have appropriate access based on their responsibilities. 

Types of Users

User roles and permissions in ReturnGO fall into the following categories:

1. Owner

The Owner role has the highest level of access and control over the application. 

Owner users have the following permissions:

  • Full access to all pages and functionalities within the app.
  • Ability to add and manage users, including assigning user roles.
2. Admin

The Admin role is designed for users who require extensive access to manage returns but with some restrictions. 

Admin users have the following permissions:

  • Access to all pages and functionalities, except the Revenue tab in Analytics > Returns.
  • Ability to add and manage users, including assigning user roles.
3. Staff

The Staff role is intended for users who handle day-to-day return operations for online returns without requiring access to sensitive financial information. 


Staff users have the following permissions:

  • Access to all screens and functionalities, except the Revenue tab in Analytics > Returns.
  • No access to the Settings menu or any of its pages.
  • No access to the Store Account, Subscription Plans, and Billing History pages.
4. Physical Store Staff 

The Physical Store Staff role is for in-store employees who handle Buy Online, Return In-Store (BORIS) returns.

This functionality is currently in Beta and not yet fully available to all merchants. Contact us for more information.


Physical Store Staff users have the following permissions:

  • Access to the Manage Returns, My Profile, Knowledge Base, and What's New pages.
  • No access to analytics or settings.
  • No access to Restock and Refund functions.
  • No access to the Store Account, Subscription Plans, and Billing History pages.

When Physical Store Staff users log into their account, they will be prompted to select the specific store and store location where they are working, and select whether to save the selection for the next login.

  • The available stores are based on associated ReturnGO stores.
  • Store locations are based on your Shopify settings.

Note: Users with access to only one store will see only the store location selection, and not the store selection.

Adding a New User

Only Owner and Admin users have the ability to add new users.

To add a new user:

  1. Click on the email address in the top right corner of the dashboard.

Users 1

2. Within the drop-down account menu, click on STORE ACCOUNT.

Users 2-png
3. Click ADD USER.

Users 3
4. Fill in the required user information, such as name and email address.


5. Choose the appropriate permissions for the user.


6. Click on the save icon to save the changes and send them an email invitation.

Your plan includes a certain number of users, and you can purchase additional users as an add-on.

Modifying User Roles

Owners and Admins can modify user roles when a user's responsibilities change or their access needs to be adjusted.

To modify a user’s permissions:

1. Click on the email address in the top right corner of the dashboard

2. Within the drop-down account menu, click on STORE ACCOUNT.

3. Click on the pencil icon next to the user you want to change permissions for.


4. Choose the appropriate permissions for the user.


5. Click on the save icon to save the changes.

Removing User Access

If a user no longer needs access to ReturnGO, Owners and Admins can revoke their access.

To remove a user's access:

  1. Click on the email address in the top right corner of the dashboard.

2. Within the drop-down account menu, click on STORE ACCOUNT.

3. Click on the red icon next to the user whose account you want to disable.

User roles and permission levels are essential for maintaining security and controlling data access within ReturnGO. Make sure to regularly review and update your users and their permissions as needed to align with your business's requirements.

Changing User Passwords

Any user can change their password at any time.

Owner and Admin users can change passwords for other users in the store.

Contact support to enable this ability.

To change a password:

1. Click on your email address in the top right corner of the dashboard.

2. Click STORE ACCOUNT.

3. Click on the pencil icon next to the user you want to edit.

4. Under the Password section, click on the CHANGE button.

5. Input the new password.

6. Click SAVE.